Derek Oxford, certified financial planner, CPS Investment Advisors, recently received a Polk Emerging Leaders Award for his dedication and commitment to the Polk County community. Derek is the 2017 chairman of Emerge Lakeland. He recently moderated an Emerge Lakeland event, “Coffee with the Candidates,” which gave local commission candidates, mayoral candidates and a U.S. House of Representatives candidate an opportunity to voice their political platforms.

Equilla Cherry, ARNP-C, joined Talbot House Ministries’ Good Samaritan Free Clinic as clinic director. The Good Samaritan Free Clinic provides medical, dental and mental-health services to uninsured Polk County residents and receives 5,000 patient visits annually. A graduate of Florida Southern College, Cherry has worked as a nurse and nurse practitioner at various facilities. Raymond Seifert is facilities director at Talbot House Ministries. Seifert previously served as facilities coordinator for CH2M. Tyler Krafft has joined Talbot House Ministries as maintenance technician after serving as an electrical foreman for a number of companies.

Photo Caption: Jennifer Olivier, APR, president of the Dick Polk/Polk County chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association accepts a President’s Award for Leadership Development during FPRA’s 79th Annual Conference. Pictured with Teri Behling, APR, CPRC, State Immediate Past President of FPRA.

Several awards were received by members of the Dick Pope/Polk County chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association at the 79th annual conference at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando held Aug. 6-9. Jennifer Olivier, APR, president of the chapter received a President’s Award for leadership development. Olivier is the director of alumni relations for Florida Southern College.